Adventures in Crafting

I attempted 2 crafts today. One was a fail. I think the other is kind of a success.

Craft 1 was based on something like this from Pinterest:

I do plan on doing something like this with my clipboards, which are covered in 4th grade graffiti. But the clipboards are buried in a box somewhere (probably in my new classroom), so I decided to try something similar with the cookie sheets that I use as magnet boards.

EDIT: I found the Pinterest link to the cute cookie sheet magnet board. Here’s the inspiration pic:

First, I spray painted the back and part of the front. FYI, Krylon works better than Rustoleum and dries far faster. It covers well, but is easy to scratch off. I got a spray enamel to use after I’m done, which hopefully will make it a little stronger. However, I might end up having to use spray primer before the spray paint.

Here’s what it looked like with the spray paint:

The middle didn’t need to be totally painted because I was going to cover it in paper. I tested a magnet to see if it would work through the paper, and it worked great. Here’s what it should look like with the paper:

I used a spray adhesive on the paper and on the cookie sheet. Here’s what it looked like after I put the paper down and tried to re-position it to be straight:

BOOOOOOOO!!!!!!

A new layer of spray paint is drying right now. I’ll re-attempt this later.

Craft 2 was a bit better. I saw this done on a blog somewhere.  Basically you just cover a binder in fabric to make it look pretty. I used spray adhesive. It looks ok, but I’m not sure it’s going to stay adhered. We’ll see.

Categories: Crafts, New Classroom, Summer Work | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “Adventures in Crafting

  1. Heather

    What does Daily 5 mean? Very cute!!

  2. Daily 5 is the literacy framework I’ll be using. I need a binder for notes about reading groups, schedules etc. I’ve heard good things about it!

  3. Lauren

    Contact Deisee about the Daily 5. She used it in third grade and still uses it with her kindies (i think). Cute crafts!!

  4. Thanks Lauren, I will. I read the book and it sounds great! I’m looking forward to it.

  5. Lauren

    *Denise

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

