Brain Breaks

If you’re like me, you might have pinned several links to brain breaks on Pinterest. I’ll be honest…. my opinion is that the best brain break is a second recess.  Last year, my teammate and I both had very active classes. We also had 3 hours of uninterrupted learning time in the afternoons.  At the beginning of the year, we took the kids out to recess between writing and math, and it was great.  However, after a couple months, we were asked to eliminate second recess.  We tried, and by the time math came around, the kiddos were Losing. It.

We tried every brain break we could think of…. dance parties, exercise, yoga, quiet meditation, you name it. Nothing worked! We saw drops of over 15% in math scores. We plead our case, brought recess back, the scores went back up, and the kids were happier, more focused, and able to learn. Huzzah!

Unfortunately, it isn’t always possible to go out for a 2nd recess.  I won’t have a 2nd recess this year, but the school day is split up much better.  Math and language arts are both in the morning with specials in between. We have a late lunch, followed by read-aloud and science or social studies.  It sounds like a great schedule!

However, I’m sure those moments will come when the kids need a quick brain break so I want to be prepared. I looked through some of the brain break links from Pinterest and chose some that I liked. They are all simple,  quick, and fun. I printed them out, glued them to bright colored tagboard, and will laminate the cards. The student helpers of the week will choose a brain break and lead it.

Here’s a picture of what they look like on the tagboard:

I just printed them and cut them out, but you could also use Avery 5371 business cards. The artwork is from http://www.scrappindoodles.com.

I hope someone out there can use these! Here’s the download:

Brain Breaks

 

Categories: Uncategorized | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Brain Breaks

  1. Alissa Blechar

    Thanks, Kirsten! I have been looking for cute, printable Brain Break Cards and haven’t found anything I liked. Good luck at your new school; you will be greatly missed!

  2. Lauren D.

    Love these! Thanks for the download!

  3. I teach 8th grade and think my big kids will love them, especially at the end of the day.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

